Meet the Mayor and Council

 


2018 Mayor and Coucil

Oradell is governed by a Mayor and Council, with the support of many different borough departments, committees, and boards.

The Mayor and members of the Council are elected by voters. The Mayor is elected to a four-year term. Duties include presiding at meetings of the governing body, signing contracts, and appointing Borough officials and members of boards and committees subject to Council confirmation. The Mayor votes only when there is a tie vote.

The Borough Council comprises six members, who are elected to serve staggered three-year terms of office. The Council approves the annual budget, adopts ordinances and resolutions, and determines policy. Council members serve as chairs of committees and as liaisons to various Borough organizations. At the beginning of each calendar year, officials participate in Oradell Municipal Reorganization Day, broadcast on OPTV, during which new committee and liaison assignments are announced.

Oradell's elected and appointed officials are dedicated to serving the public and to providing exceptional citizen service at all times.

 

Directory of Elected Officials

Title Name Email Term of Office Committee Assignments Council Liaisons
Mayor Dianne C. Didio mayor@oradell.org 1/1/16 to 12/31/19    
Council President Tracy Schoenberg tschoenberg@oradell.org 1/1/16 to 12/31/18 Admin, Fire 

Senior Citizen Advisory Comm, Economic Dev Advisory Comm

Councilmember Roger Tashjian rtashjian@oradell.org   1/1/16 to 12/31/18 DPW & Engineering, Shared Svcs BOE for RDHS and Bergen Catholic
Councilmember Stephen Carnevale scarnevale@oradell.org 1/1/17 to 12/31/19 Police & Emer Mgmt, Regional School Funding Planning Bd, Historic, OPTV
Councilmember Robert Jannicelli rjannicelli@oradell.org 1/1/18 to 12/31/20 Ordinance Rec, Special Events, Ambulance
Councilmember Thomas Kelly tkelly@oradell.org 1/1/18 to 12/31/20 Finance & Insurance Community Outreach, Zoning, Enviro/Beautification and BOE for OPS/St. Joseph
Councilmember Miriam Yu myu@oradell.org replaced vacancy until 2018 General Election   Board of Health, Library, Municipal Drug Alliance